Severe weather over the last month has led the state to activate Iowa’s Individual Assistance Program to help citizens in 39 counties.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200% of the federal poverty level, or a maximum annual income of $39,580, for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food, and for the expense of temporary housing. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery.

Below is a list of eligible counties and the dates that the applications for reimbursement are due. Persons can get the applications by visiting, or call 1-866-434-4692, Monday through Friday 7 a.m. – 6 p.m. Completed applications should be returned to the local Community Action Association, In addition, if you are in need of disaster crisis counseling, please call the Iowa Concern Hotline at 800-447-1985 and find more information here:

July 28 – Cass, Decatur, Harrison, Montgomery, Pottawattamie, and Ringgold.

August 8 – Kossuth and Hancock.

August 11 – Buena Vista, Cherokee, Franklin, Lyon, Palo Alto, Plymouth, and Sioux.

August 14 – Adair and Guthrie.

August 15 – Black Hawk, Cedar, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Muscatine, Jones, and Linn.

August 18 – Clay, Calhoun, Clinton, Emmet, Hamilton, Hardin, Lee, and Marshall.

August 22 – Scott and Shelby.

August 25 – Tama.

September 1 – Chickasaw, Benton, and Des Moines.

State and Federal Disaster Declarations

Many more than those 39 counties have been eligible to receive state assistance, which means that state agencies have been asked to assist with things such as clean up, sand bagging, and general resource support.

The Governor has signed a letter requesting a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 26 counties as a result of the damage that occurred June 14 – 23. The 26 counties in this letter of request are: Allamakee, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Fayette, Franklin, Hancock, Humboldt, Ida, Kossuth, Lyon, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sac, Sioux, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, and Wright. If granted, communities affected by these storms would be eligible to receive more financial assistance for infrastructure needs.