House Speaker Pat Murphy, D-Dubuque, appointed committee chairs and made committee assignments for the 83rd General Assembly, which starts on January 12, 2009.

“We’ve put together a solid team with expertise on issues ranging from jobs to education to health care. We will work across party lines to build consensus and help Iowans struggling in these difficult times,” said Murphy.

“We are committed to helping middle class families and small businesses that are being squeezed by this tough national economy. Earlier this year, we outlined our plan to Secure Iowa’s Economic Future and we will work together to make good on those promises,” said House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy, D-Des Moines.

The Rebuild Iowa and Disaster Recovery Committee is a new standing committee for 2009. Murphy also appointed vice-chairs for the committees and made committee assignments for the 56 Democrats in the Iowa House. The list of committee chairs is below and the full list of committee appointments for Democrats is attached.

Committee Chairs, 83rd General Assembly

Standing Committees
Administration and Rules – Rep. Beth Wessel-Kroeschell, Ames
Agriculture – Rep. Dolores Mertz, Ottosen
Appropriations – Rep. Jo Oldson, Des Moines
Commerce & Regulation – Rep. Janet Petersen, Des Moines
Economic Growth – Rep. Roger Thomas, Elkader
Education – Rep. Roger Wendt, Sioux City
Environmental Protection – Rep. Donovan Olson, Boone
Ethics – Rep. Helen Miller, Ft. Dodge
Government Oversight – Rep. Vicki Lensing, Iowa City
Human Resources – Rep. Mark Smith, Marshalltown
Judiciary – Rep. Kurt Swaim, Bloomfield
Labor – Rep. Rick Olson, Des Moines
Local Government – Rep. Mary Gaskill, Ottumwa
Natural Resources – Rep. Paul Bell, Newton
Public Safety – Rep. Jim Lykam, Davenport
Rebuild Iowa & Disaster Recovery – Rep. Tom Schueller, Maquoketa
State Government – Rep. Mary Mascher, Iowa City
Transportation – Rep. Brian Quirk, New Hampton
Veterans Affairs – Rep. Ray Zirkelbach, Monticello
Ways & Means – Rep. Paul Shomshor, Council Bluffs

Joint Appropriations Subcommittees
Administration & Regulation – Rep. Bruce Hunter, Des Moines
Agriculture & Natural Resources – Rep. Mark Kuhn, Charles City
Economic Development – Rep. David Jacoby, Coralville
Education – Rep. Cindy Winckler, Davenport
Health & Human Services – Rep. Lisa Heddens, Ames
Justice Systems – Rep. Todd Taylor, Cedar Rapids
Transportation, Infrastructure, & Capitals – Rep. Dennis Cohoon, Burlington

Statutory Committee
Administrative Rules Review – Rep. Marcie Frevert, Emmetsburg