State Representative Mark Smith of Marshalltown was elected today to continue on as Iowa House Democratic Leader.  Leader Smith was first elected to the post last fall and led House Democrats during the 2014 Legislative Session.

“I’m honored to be chosen by my colleagues to lead Democrats in the Iowa House again next session. With four new members and a diverse caucus, we’re ready to work together in January to improve the lives of regular people and build a strong middle class,” said Leader Smith.

Rep. Smith was just elected to his 8th term in the Iowa House last week. He was born and raised on his family’s farm near Osceola, Iowa. He is a graduate of Graceland College in Lamoni and earned a Masters in Social Work from the University of Iowa.  Smith was the Director of Special Projects at the Substance Abuse Treatment Unit of Central Iowa. Mark and his wife, Karen, have one grown daughter and he has two grown foster sons.

House Democrats also elected four Assistant Minority Leaders for the 2015 session and include: Rep. Ako Abdul-Samad of Des Moines, Rep. Mary Gaskill of Ottumwa, Rep. Todd Prichard of Charles City, and Rep. Sharon Steckman of Mason City.

The four new members of the House Democratic Caucus are Liz Bennett of Cedar Rapids, Timi Brown-Powers of Waterloo, Abby Finkenauer of Dubuque, and Charlie McConkey of Council Bluffs.

The 2015 Legislative Session starts on Monday, January 12. For more information, log on to