The Rebuild Iowa Advisory Commission, which is a joint effort between the Legislature and executive branch to lead disaster recovery efforts, was announced in June and 15 members have been appointed to the commission.  The commission will meet soon and make its first report within 45 days. 

Commission members include:

Bill Bywater – Bill Bywater, of Iowa City, is the President of Economy Advertising/TruArt Color Graphics.

Jim Davis – Jim Davis, of Charles City, is the owner of Iowa Title in Charles City and currently serves on the state Small Business Advisory Council.

Michael Earley – Mike Earley, of Des Moines, is President and Chief Executive Officer of Bankers Trust.

Jim Fausett – Jim Fausett, of Coralville, is President of the Iowa League of Cities. He has served as the Mayor of Coralville since 1996. (Upon completion of his term as president of the League of Cities, Fausett will be succeeded by the incoming President, Mayor Tim Hurley (R) of Waterloo, who has been invited to begin participating in the commission’s meetings as an ex oficio member.)

Bill Gerhard – Bill Gerhard, of Iowa City, serves as president of the Iowa State Building and Construction Trades Council.

Karris Golden – Karris Golden, of Waterloo, is assistant director of communication and marketing for Wartburg College in Waverly, and is a member of the Generation Iowa Commission.

Brent Halling – Brent Halling, of Perry, served as Deputy Secretary of the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship from 1999 to 2007, and has been a grain and livestock family farmer.

Mike King – Mike King, of Creston, is President of the Iowa State Association of Counties. He is currently the chair of the Union County Board of Supervisors. (Upon completion of his term as president of ISAC, King will be succeeded by the incoming president, Sherriff Gary Anderson (R) of Appanoose County, who has been invited to begin participating in the commission’s meetings as an ex oficio member.)

Linda Larkin – Linda Larkin, of Fort Madison, is currently vice president of operations for Agemark Assisted Living.

Nitza Lopez-Castillo — Mitza Lopez-Castillo, of Columbus Junction, currently serves as the Assistant Director of Community Development for Louisa County.

Carroll Reasoner – Carroll Reasoner, of Cedar Rapids, is an attorney for Shuttleworth & Ingersoll, P. L. C. She is a former president of the U of I Foundation and longtime Cedar Rapids civic leader.

Amy Truax – Amy Truax, of Parkersburg, is the co-owner of a family-operated insurance agency.

Mark Wandro – Mark Wandro, of Des Moines, currently serves as Executive Vice President for Snyder and Associates in Ankeny, and previously served as director of the Iowa Department of Transportation from 1999 to 2005.

Beverly Wharton – Beverly Wharton, of Sioux City, is the President of Briar Cliff University.

Background on the Rebuild Iowa Advisory Commission

Created by Governor Culver’s executive order, the 15 member, bipartisan “Rebuild Iowa” Commission is charged with three specific tasks:

  • The commission will report to the Office of the Governor and to the Legislature within 45 days of the first meeting. This report will include an assessment of the storms’ impact on the state – including our people, schools, businesses, and private and public infrastructure — and recommend initial steps the legislative and executive branches can take to assist in recovery.
  • The Commission will develop a comprehensive long-term vision for rebuilding a safer, stronger, and better Iowa. In doing so, the Commission is charged with reaching out to stakeholders at all levels of the private sector and government, and citizens of all walks of life, from all parts of the state. This innovative and inclusive process will be accompanied by recommendations for strategies to achieve that vision.
  • The Commission will continue to advise on the state’s ongoing recovery efforts at the federal, state and local levels, and assess progress towards meeting the rebuilding vision.

The Commission will also be empowered to create and appoint ongoing task forces focused on specific issues, and, as necessary, develop further recommendations in these areas in order to support a strategic recovery process.