Dunkel HeadshotNancy Dunkel, a community leader and banker from Dyersville, is currently the Executive Director of the Dyersville Area Community Foundation. She retired from Fidelity Bank & Trust in 2010 and previously worked at State Bank in Worthington, Iowa, and Farley State Bank. She is past chair of the Dyersville Area Chamber of Commerce and also the Dubuque Chamber of Commerce. She presently serves as a board member of Stonehill Franciscan Services, Finley Hospital, Principal Bank, Operation New View, and the Girl Scouts of Eastern Iowa and Western Illinois. She also volunteered for SCORE, a free service to startup businesses and entrepreneurs. At the state level, she chaired the Targeted Small Business Program and is also a member of the Main Street Iowa Advisory Board.

Nancy was elected to the Iowa Women’s Hall of Fame in 2011 and was the first woman to chair the Iowa Bankers’ Association. She has served as President of the Iowa Chapter of Financial Women International, Inc. and has been a member of the Iowa Student Loan Liquidity Corporation Board and the Iowa Department of Banking Board.
Nancy has worked hard to improve the quality of life for hard-working families and bringing good-paying jobs to Dubuque County. Through her lending career in the bank, serving on the Iowa Values Fund board, and serving eight years and chairing the Iowa Department of Economic Development, she has seen first-hand what Iowa has to offer and how important businesses—both large and small—are to Iowa. She believes the state has a critical role to play in building a highly-skilled workforce through world class schools, affordable higher education, and re-training opportunities for Iowans.

Born in Manchester, Iowa, Nancy has been married for 38 years to her husband, Ken. They farm in Dubuque and Clayton County. Their daughter, Jill, lives in Minneapolis with her husband, Jon, and their two daughters. Nancy is an avid bicyclist who has ridden across the state for thirteen consecutive years and rode on RAGBRAI again this summer.

House District 57 includes Holy Cross, Sherrill, Asbury, New Vienna, Dyersville, Farley, Epworth, Peosta