Four democratic representatives have been selected by their colleagues to serve as Assistant Minority Leaders in the Iowa House of Representatives for the 2015 legislative session.

Abdul-Samad 2011 OFFICIAL reduced 2
Representative Ako Abdul-Samad of Des Moines, elected to the post in 2009, will serve another term as an assistant leader. Representative Abdul-Samad will serve his fifth term in the Iowa House. He is the CEO/Founder of Creative Visions Human Development Center in Des Moines.







Representative Mary Gaskill of Ottumwa was elected for a third year to serve as an assistant leader. Representative Gaskill, a former County Auditor for 16 years, will serve her seventh term in the Iowa House.






Representative Todd Prichard of Charles City will be serving his second year as an assistant leader to the House Democratic Caucus. Prichard is serving his second term in the Iowa House after winning a special election in 2013. He is a small business owner and attorney in Charles City at Prichard Law Office, P.C and was an Infantry Officer in the Iowa National Guard.



Sharon Steckman


Representative Sharon Steckman of Mason City will serve her first term as an assistant leader. A teacher for over 20 years, she previously served as Ranking Member of the House Education Committee. She was elected to her fourth term in the Iowa House.