After expanding their majority to 56 in last week’s election, Democrats in the Iowa House met at the State Capitol on Wednesday to elect leaders and begin planning for the 2009 legislative session.

The leadership team for the 83rd General Assembly includes:
House Speaker Pat Murphy of Dubuque
House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy of Des Moines
Speaker Pro Tempore Polly Bukta of Clinton

Assistant Leaders:
Rep. Ako Abdul-Samad of Des Moines
Rep. Elesha Gayman of Davenport
Rep. Mike Reasoner of Creston
Rep. John Whitaker of Hillsboro