The 2008 Session of the 82nd General Assembly convenes at 10 a.m. today. After opening speeches by House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy, Minority Leader Christopher Rants, and House Speaker Pat Murphy, the House will honor State Representative Ray Zirkelbach of Monticello for his service in Iraq.

On Tuesday, January 15, Iowa Governor Chet Culver delivers the Condition of the State address in the House Chambers at 10 a.m. and on Wednesday, January 16, Chief Justice Marsha Ternus of the Iowa Supreme Court will deliver the Condition of the Judiciary.