Monday, June 18, 2018

Home » 2017 Session Information » House Democrats Select 2017 Committee Assignments

House Democrats Select 2017 Committee Assignments

December 20, 2016 9:30 am by: Category: 2017 Session Information, Featured, Recent News Leave a comment A+ / A-

House Democratic Leader Mark Smith of Marshalltown today announced committee assignments and appointed the Ranking Members of House Committees for the 2017 legislative session.

“House Democrats have assembled a strong team to lead committees and keep the 2017 session focused on improving the lives of regular Iowans and building a strong middle class,” said Smith.

The list below includes the Ranking Members for the 2017 legislative session, which begins on January 9. The full list of committee assignments can be seen here.


Administration & Rules – Rep. Ruth Ann Gaines
Agriculture – Rep. Todd Prichard
Appropriations – Rep. Chris Hall
Commerce – Rep. Jo Oldson
Economic Growth – Rep. Mary Gaskill
Education – Rep. Sharon Steckman
Environmental Protection –Rep. Chuck Isenhart
Ethics – Rep. Phyllis Thede
Government Oversight – Rep. Abby Finkenauer
Human Resources – Rep. Beth Wessel-Kroeschell
International Relations – Rep. Ako Abdul-Samad
Judiciary – Rep. Mary Wolfe
Labor – Rep. Bruce Hunter
Local Government – Rep. Art Staed
Natural Resources – Rep. Curt Hanson
Public Safety – Rep. Marti Anderson
State Government – Rep. Mary Mascher
Transportation – Rep. John Forbes
Veterans Affairs – Rep. Jerry Kearns
Ways & Means – Rep. Dave Jacoby


Administration & Regulation – Rep. Timi Brown-Powers
Agriculture & Natural Resources – Rep. Scott Ourth
Economic Development – Rep. Kirsten Running-Marquardt
Education – Rep. Cindy Winckler
Health & Human Services – Rep. Lisa Heddens
Justice Systems – Rep. Todd Taylor
Transportation, Infrastructure, and Capitals – Rep. Dennis Cohoon


Rep. Rick Olson-RM
Rep. Art Staed

Leave a Comment

scroll to top